Bookkeeping: Southern Zhuang

This entry has been retired and is featured here only for bookkeeping purposes. Either the entry has been replaced with one or more more accurate entries or it has been retired because it was based on a misunderstanding to begin with.

Retired in ISO 639-3: Split into five languages: Nong Zhuang [zhn]; Yang Zhuang [zyg]; Yongnan Zhuang [zyn]; Zuojiang Zhuang [zzj]; Dai Zhuang [zhd].

  • Change request: 2006-128
  • ISO 639-3: ccy
  • Name: Southern Zhuang
  • Reason: split
  • Effective: 2007-07-18

Excerpt from change request document:

These five Southern Zhuang languages are not mutually intelligible with each other and have no common literature. They have been grouped into the same official nationality (Zhuang) since 1958 by the government (along with speakers of ccx, Northern Zhuang,

and Buyang), but previously did not share a common ethnolinguistic identity. There is no central variety or reference dialect for all five either (most commonly some dialect of Chinese is used as lingua franca among speakers of different Southern Zhuang langauges).

show big map


Details Name Title Any field ca Year Pages Doctype ca Provider da